h1

Jake-ation Diary

September 12, 2010

Oh boy oh boy oh boy! Mama was home with me for nine whole days! That is almost more than I can count! Sometimes humans do not go to work, but they do not go on a trip, and they call it a “staycation”. Mama did not go to work, and she did not go on a trip, she stayed home to play with me! That is a Jake-ation! I like that very much. Here is what we did!

Day One: This started out like any normal No Work day, mama picked things up and put them in other places, and pushed the boogie machine around, and then we went to the groshamee store. Then we went for a very long walk, and I chased things! That was very fun. Then we relaxed on the patio – well, mama relaxed, and I monitored the yard for suspicious activity, because that is what I do.

Day Two: This also started like a normal No Work day, there was no buzzing sound to wake us up, and mama read words on a bunch of folded papers while she had breakfast.  Except oh no, she made too much bacon!  So I had to have a piece.  Then she wrote letters in tiny little boxes while I chewed on a swizzle stick, which is what we always do on the second No Work day.  Then we went for a long walk, and then!  We went to Camp Freedom to run run run!  Gramma scratched my itchy spots, and granpa made food on the smoky cooker, and then we had a campfire!  That was very fun.  And I got to have a steak bone – yummy!

Day Three: Normally after two No Work days, mama leaves again, but today she did not!  No Work again today, yay!  We went for a long walk, and did laundamees, and played fetch in the yard, and then we went to Camp Freedom again!  This time granpa made chicka-brats to eat, and I got to have one!  And, gramma and mama took pictures of me jumping through a hoop, I wonder what that was for?

Day Four:  No Work again today?  I can hardly believe it!  Today we went to my all-time favorite Stick Factory!  I like this Stick Factory because there are two places where I can swim, and many many places where we can hike.  There was nobody else in the Stick Factory – we had the whole place to ourselves!  So mama carried my leash, but I was not attached to it – ha ha ha!  (Do not tell the Ranger Man.)  But I am a good boy, I stay on the Trail, and don’t go too far ahead, so mama can see me – and every once in a while I stop and look back to make sure she is still there.  Sometimes when we go to the Stick Factory mama brings the little house of cloth and we sleep in there.  But this time, after we were done having fun in the Stick Factory, we went back Home.  I like that, because then I can sleep comfy and not worry about all the strange sounds that I hear.

Day Five:  Still no work!  Today we went for a very long ride, and then we ended up in a whole new Stick Factory!    There were even more places for us to hike, and I saw some of the biggest trees I have ever seen!  We hiked and hiked and hiked, and then we went to a lake where I could swim!  I even learned how to jump off a table thing and into the water.  After that, I was very tired, and I slept all the way Home.

Day Six:  Today we did not have a Stick Factory adventure, because the sky was full of gray things that might drop water on us.  But I stuporvised while mama did projects like taking things out of the little food room and putting them back in, and then we went for a long walk, and then!  We went to my favorite store, Mounds!  Because the people at gramma’s Work gave me a very nice present for being in their commershal.   So I shopped and sniffed for things I would like, and I got a brand new toy!  It is the kind where mama puts treats inside and then I have to figure out how to get the treats out!  This one was a new shape, and it is much harder!  And mama also stocked up on all my favorite treats – swizzle sticks and chicka-jerky and super giant biscuits, oh my!

Day Seven:  Another Stick Factory adventure today!  We went for another very long ride, and then we ended up at the Stick Factory with all the water and big yellow rocks.  There was nobody else at this Stick Factory either, so we got to run and play!  We stayed the whole day, hiking and swimming and just sitting by the waters, and then went back Home.

Day Eight:  I like it so much when mama stays home with me.  I think the part I like best is that there is no buzzing noise in the morning, we just wake up when it starts to get light, and then mama rubs my tummy for a while before we get up.  Today mama pushed the boogie machine around again, and did some more Projects, and then we went to the groshamee store, and then we just had a quiet day with long walks and relaxing on the patio.

Day Nine:  Today was another quiet day, we had pan-a-ma-cakes for breakfast, and mama wrote letters in tiny little boxes again while I chewed a swizzle stick, and then we went for a very long walk, and then I stuporvised while she worked in the garden.  Now I am very tired – I really like having mama home with me, but I also miss my naps during the day!

Leave a Reply

