h1

Field Guide: A Well-Trained Human

March 14, 2008

Humans can be hard to train, but if you put the time and effort into it, you can get very good results. My human is pretty smart (for a human), so she learns things quickly.

These are some of the things I have trained my human to do:

  • Fetch is one of my favorite games in the whole world! I have trained my human to use a two-tennis-ball system, because it takes far too much time for me to drop one ball, and then wait for her to pick it up and throw it again. With two tennis balls, I can drop the first one at her feet and turn right around to chase the second one!
  • I like bones! They make fun crunching noises, and last a long time. Sometimes it’s hard to get just the right angle, so I have trained my human to hold it for me while I chew – I bring the bone over to her, drop it, and give it a push with my nose. Then she picks it up and holds it for me while I chew on it. I am very careful not to chew on her fingers, though, because she needs those to open the treat jar.
  • Sometimes my human sits and reads a book, or watches a box with pictures on it. This is undesirable behavior, because then she is not paying attention to ME. To correct that, I go to the window and bark once or twice, as if I see something. Sometimes she does not get up right away, so I go and look at her, and then go back to the window and bark again. Then she gets up to see what I’m barking at, and I win! Because now she is doing what she is supposed to do, which is pay attention to me.
  • I have also trained my human to give me a treat every time we come back from a walk – we come in the door, she unhooks my leash, and then we go directly to the treat station (the treats are kept on top of the refrigerator, where I cannot reach them. I need to do something about that.) Sometimes I get distracted and forget that I am supposed to get a treat after a walk, but I have trained my human so well that she goes to the treat station every time.
  • Of course, the most important thing that I have trained my human to do is to come home. Most days of the week, she puts on fancy clothes and goes away – she says this is “going to work”. But she comes home in the middle of the day so we can go for a walk, and then later she comes home again and puts on adventure pants (she calls them “jeans”), and then I know she is home for the night and will play with me! Then there are very special days, when she says “no work today!” When my human says this, I am very happy, because it means she’s going to play with me all day!
One comment

  1. yes jake humans are trainable and the nice thing is that they remember their training for all their life.



Leave a Reply

